Select Page

Coptic Educational Foundation Merit Achievement Award Reception

On August 6 2006 the Coptic Educational Foundation Merit Achievement Award Reception was held at the Marriott Hotel- Los Angeles. His grace Bishop Serapion, Fr. Boulos, Fr. Isaac, Fr. Michael, Fr. Raphael and over 140 guests attended this event. The purpose of the event is to celebrate the accomplishments of the high school seniors and to announce the 10 recipients of the CEF-Merit Achievement Award. The CEF received 21 applications from this award. Each of applicant that was present at the event was recognized and received a small gift as a token of their efforts. In addition, each of the 10 award recipients received an Award Certificate and a check for $2,000 paid to the University that will be attending.

Several speakers talked about various aspects of CEF.
  • Cherif & Nabih Youssef briefed the participants on the status of CEF and listed their last year’s accomplishments
  • Cynthia Colon, shared her remarks on helping high school seniors with their college applications and admission requirements 
  • Georgette Farag talked about the partnership of the Coptic Outreach organization and CEF to offer educational services. She also announced that the Coptic Outreach is offering three Merit Awards in addition to the seven that CEF is offering.
  • Mary Said outlined the Award Selection Process and stated the Selection Criteria for receiving the Merit Achievement Award
  • Dr. Sahar Barsoum gave the commencement speech to all the applicants and their parents.
  • The profile of each of the award recipient was presented by one of the Selection Committee members
  • And finally, his grace Bishop Serapion give the concluding remarks.

Shown below is the list of Award Applicants

Name Church University
Abraam Mikhael Saint Maurice Cal State LA
Amy Barsoum Saint Mark LMU
Andrew Tadros St. Verena & Three Holy Youth Church (COCC) University of the Pacific
Antonious Sadek Saint Mark UC Irvine
Barbara Farag Hanna St. Marina Cal Poly Pomona
Daniel Helmy St Peter & St. Paul Pomona College
Erene Morcos St. Athanasious Yale University
Jonathan Finley St. Abraam UCLA
Joseph Farag Youth Center USC
Joseph Seif Saint Marina UC Irvine
Julie Hana Archangel Michael & Gabriel University of the Pacific
Mark Habib Archangel Raphael & St. Mina UC San Diego
Mary Nasief St. Mina UC San Diego
Mathew Magar St. George UC Irvine
Michael Beshir Mitry St. George UC San Diego
Michael Ghobrial St. Abraam UCLA
Moura Mikhael Saint Maurice Cal State LA
Peter Grace Saint George UCLA
Rebekah Faheem St. Maurice Cal State Fullerton
Sandra Helmy Archangel Michael UC Irvine
Tracy Wassif Saint Maurice UC Irvine

Shown Below is the list of Award Recipients

  • Amy Barsoum
  • Andrew Tadros
  • Antonious Sadek
  • Barbara Farag Hanna
  • Daniel Helmy
  • Erene Morcos
  • Joseph Seif
  • Julie Hana
  • Mathew Magar
  • Sandra Helmy

Posted by Fr. Moses Samaan

April 9, 2009


On the 9th day of the blessed month of Amshir, Saturday February 17, 2024, His Eminence Metropolitan Serapion accompanied by...

read more